Monday, January 10, 2011

2011 Book Awards have been announced!

The winners of the 2011 book awards were announced this morning!

The Caldecott Medal for illustration was awarded to
A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead

and Honors went to Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave illustrated by Bryan Collier and Interrupting Chicken illustrated by David Ezra Stein

The Newbery Medal for outstanding youth literature was awarded to
Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool,
and honors went to Dark Emperor and Other poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman, Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus, One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams Garcia, and Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm

The winner of the Printz Award (for Excelllence in YA Literature) is

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
and honors to Stolen by Lucy Christopher, Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King, Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick, and Nothing by Janne Teller

Click on any of the titles to place a hold!